Workshop on Integration of Stakeholders for Promoting Climate-Smart Technologies through Digital Agriculture

ICAR -NRRI and M S Swaminathan Research Foundation (MSSRF) jointly organised a day  workshop on  “Integration of Stakeholders for Promoting Climate-Smart Technologies through Digital Agriculture” on 23rd December 2019 at NRRI, Cuttack.  Dr.A K Nayak, Principal Scientist & HOD, CCAR – NRRI delivered the welcome address and highlighted the Resilience project interventions and the role of digital agriculture to build the capacity of the farmers. Dr. H. Pathak, Director, NRRI in his inaugural address expressed that due to the climate change lots of changes are happening in agriculture sector and the climate determines the agriculture. The important action for climate change is foreseeing the risk, forecast for the problems; develop appropriate technology for both adaptation and mitigation. The project is aiming to address all these aspects.  The ICTs can play a significant role to address these issues and build resilience among the farmers. Dr.R.Rengalakshmi, Director, Ecotechnology, MSSRF explained the ICT based interventions of MSSRF  and the join initiative of CABI and MSSRF’s Plant clinic programme. She said that the plant clinic is very helpful to the farmers to receive the timely advisories for their crop’s problem. The stakeholders' support and cooperation are very important to achieve our goal. Dr.Rahul Tripathi, Senior scientist NRRI made a presentation of digital agriculture initiatives under Resilience project. Dr. R. Rajkumar, Senior Scientist MSSRF explained the various ICT based intervention of MSSRF through Village Knowledge Centres.

A panel discussion on seed village, Integrated Pest Management, weed management, and ICT based services was also conducted with the panelists of  NRRI Scientists. Officials form Agriculture department, KVK, OUAT, Resilience project team of NRRI, OUAT and MSSRF and men and women farmers from the project villages had participated in the workshop.  Er. Priyadarshini, Scientist NRRI  proposed vote of thanks.